Coordinating Committee of Scientific Activities

The Coordinating Committee of Scientific Activities (CCSA), with representatives from all of The Union’s Scientific Sections and the Institute, develops the scientific programme for the Union World Conference. Organising international conferences on TB and related subjects has been a core activity of The Union since its founding in 1920.

CCSA Members

Dr Keren Middelkoop, Chair, CCSA

Dr Middelkoop is a clinician-researcher at Desmond Tutu HIV Centre, in the Institute of Infectious Disease and Molecular Medicine (University of Cape Town), performing HIV and TB research. Dr Middelkoop’s early research involved clinical trials for HIV vaccine candidates and antiretroviral treatment options. Over the past 12 years, Dr Middelkoop has focused on public health and epidemiology research, including running a number of community-based studies on the HIV epidemic and its impact on community TB disease rates and transmission. Dr Middelkoop is now pursuing her interests in TB transmission studies and expanding her skills in the field of molecular epidemiology.

  • Carrie Tudor


  • Anete Trajman

    Conference Programme Lead, TB Section

  • Frederick Quinn

    Conference Programme Lead, Zoonotic TB Sub-Section

  • Niesje Jansen

    Conference Programme Lead, Nurses & Allied Professionals Sub-Section

  • Anthony Richard

    Conference Programme Lead, Bacteriology & Immunology Sub-Section

  • Lisa Cranmer

    Conference Programme Lead, Adult & Child Lung Health Section

  • Tom Boyles

    Conference Programme Lead, HIV Section

  • Elif Dagli

    Conference Programme Lead, Tobacco Control Section

  • Paula I Fujiwara

    Scientific Director, The Union, EMT representative

  • Kevin Mortimer

    Director, Department of Lung Health, The Union

  • Grania Brigden

    Director, Department of TB and HIV, The Union, Institute representative

  • Ingrid Schoeman

    Civil Society Representative

  • Paul Jensen

    Director, Policy & Strategy, The Union

  • Zohar Mor

    President, The Union Europe Region

Back to top

Receive Conference News & Updates